LECCE, APRIL 18-23, 2016


Golden Olive Tree to Lily Lane by Bence Fliegauf

The winner of Mario Verdone Award is Duccio Chiarini for Short Skin

FIPRESCI Award to Our everyday life by Ines Tanović

The winner of SNGCI Award for Best European Actor is Peter Mullan for Hector by Jake Gavin


The 17th edition of the European Film Festival of Lecce, managed by Cristina Soldano and Alberto La Monica, has concluded after garnering great success and massive audience participation.


Silvia, Carlo, Luca Verdone have awarded the Mario Verdone Award, this year on its seventh edition, to Duccio Chiarini for the film Short Skin (Italy, 2015), with the following motivation: “As the film describes, with grace and self-irony, the difficulty of living of a teenager dealing with a sexual life hampered by a small physical defect, turning his story into a universal parable on the difficulty of loving and being loved. A film that elicits immediate empathy in a delicate and absolutely original way”.

The Golden Olive Tree Jury, composed by Roberto Olla (Chair), Karel Och, Antonin Dedet, Maria Sole Tognazzi and Alessia Barela, has awarded the following prizes:

Golden Olive Tree Award and 5,000 Euro Prize to the film Lily Lane (Hungary, 2016) by Bence Fliegauf, with the following motivation: “The Jury was impressed by the originality and strength of the images. The author has made a very personal film, escaping the clichés of classical film narration.”

Award for Best Screenplay to Ines Tanović for Our everyday life (Bosnia Herzegovina, Croatia, Slovenia, Germany, 2015), directed by Tanović herself.

Award for Best Cinematography to Martin Žiaran for The Cleaner (Slovakja, 2015) by Peter Bebjak.

Special Jury Award to Virgin Mountain (Iceland, Denmark 2015) by Dagur Kári, with the following motivation: “For creating a believable and heart-breaking story revolving around an unlikely character. The author has managed to elicit great empathy from the audience.”

The FIPRESCI Award Jury, composed by Martin Kanuch, René Marx, Giuseppe Sedia, has unanimously awarded Our everyday life (Bosnia Herzegovina, Croatia, Slovenia, Germany, 2015) by Ines Tanović with the following motivation: “A delicate portrayal of a family, which hints at the heavy effects of History without explicitly showing the signs of destruction. Characters who want to go on with their lives.”

The SNGCI (National Union of Italian Film Journalists) Award, awarded by the members of the Union and by Chiara Laura Delli Colli to the best European actress/actor, has been given to Peter Mullan for the film Hector (UK, 2015) by Jake Gavin. The motivation is the following: “For his ability as a great actor to portray the existential crisis of a man who has lost his match with society, in a journey through memories that becomes a touching representation of human weaknesses. Mullan delivers, once again, an amazing artistic performance.”

The Cineuropa Award Jury, composed by Valerio Caruso and Jérémy Zelnik, has awarded the prize to Ivy (Turkey, Germany, 2015) by Tolga Karaçelik. The motivation is the following: “an action-packed film, unfolding like a psychological thriller, both fast-paced and profound. The film has several strengths: the actors, carefully chosen and very believable; an absolute mastery of music and sounds, that follow the characters as they spiral into madness; and the dark, disquieting and realistic shots.”

The fourth edition of Emidio Greco Award  (selection committee: Jacopo Chessa, Lia Furxi, Alberto La Monica) has been awarded by the jury composed by the Greco family to Lo so che mi senti (Italy, 2015) by Francesca Mazzoleni.

The Jury of Puglia Show Award, composed by Francesco Ranieri Martinotti, Francesca Andreoli, Mariolina Gamba, has awarded the CNC Prize, the Augustus Color Prize and the 1,000 Euro Prize offered by Countess Maria Josè Pietroforte di Petruzzi to Tutto su Madeleine by Sabina Andrisano for “its ever- topical portrayal of a female universe, supported by an ironic gaze and a brilliant direction, and enriched with Almodovar-style grotesque elements.” Luca Cucci has been given the Special Mention for Giuseppe che sapeva volare, a film that “combines the art, landscape, culture and mysticism of Apulia into a tale that manages to intrigue, engage and surprise the audience.”

The Rai Cinema Channel Prize of 1,000 Euros has been given by the jury composed by Maria Federica Lo Jacono and Manuela Rima to Kelime by Federico Mudoni: “For managing to describe, within just 11 minutes, the drama of terrorism, the worst tragedy of our time, through an intimate and personal gaze, devoid of any judgement”.

The Unisalento Prize, awarded by the students of the Course of Cinema, Photography and Television, Department of Communication Studies of the University of Salento, has been given to Il tradimento di Ippocrate by Giuseppe De Mita with the following motivation: “For the first time, the University of Salento has awarded a prize named after the University itself; the jury composed by the students member of the University film club has chosen ‘Il tradimento di Ippocrate’ by Giuseppe De Mita for the quality of the idea underlying the story, the maturity of the dramaturgic development, the thematic coherence evident in everycomponent of film language, from costumes to photography.” 

 The Special Audience Award has been given to Hector (UK, 2015) by Jake Gavin.