LECCE 3rd – 8th APRIL 2017

Golden Olive Tree to My Happy Family by Nana & Simon

Mario Verdone Award to Marco Danieli for The Wordly Girl

FIPRESCI Award My Happy Family by Nana & Simon

SNGCI Award for Best European Actor to Nebojš Glogovac for The Constitution by Rajko Grlić

Agiscuola Award A Taste of Ink by Morgan Simon

The 18th edition of Lecce European Film Festival, directed by Alberto La Monica and Cristina Soldano, has closed with great success and a massive audience presence. During the awarding ceremony, presented by Carlo Gentile, the awards of this edition will be assigned.

For Mario Verdone Award, the finalists chosen by Carlo, Luca and Silvia Verdone within the shortlist of ten films selected by the Experimental Cinema Centre and the National Union of Italian Film Journalists are:

The Wordly Girl by Marco Danieli

Mine by Fabio Guaglione and Fabio Resinaro

Il grande sogno by Michele Vannucci

The Mario Verdone Award 2017, eighth edition, has been assigned to Marco Danieli for The Wordly Girl (Italy, 2016) with the following motivation: “Because through a firm and very balanced direction, that already shows an interesting stylistic accuracy, turns the story of a forbidden love into that of an emancipation that tackles prohibitions and social pressures. A film that relies on the talent of two young and well-directed actors to narrate the journey across a world that is unveiled beyond its clichés”.

Special Award to They Call Me Jeeg by Gabriele Mainetti.

The Golden Olive Tree jury, composed by Marion Doring (Chair), Lene Børglum, Tilde Corsi, Heather Stewart and Eva Zaoralovà, has awarded the following prizes:

Golden Olive Tree Award and 5000.00 Euro Prize to the film My Happy Family (Georgia, 2017) by Nana & Simon with the following motivation: “The audience is immersed in the life of a family where three generations, living in the same house, try to overcome their personal daily challenges between tradition and modernity. At the same time, the film is a subtle portrayal of a middle-aged woman and mother striving for self-determination. A mise-en-scene that makes us feel as if we had always been members of this family”.

Best Screenplay Award to Rajko Grlić and Ante Tomic for The Constitution (Croatia, Czech Republic, Slovenia,2016) by Rajko Grlić, with the following motivation, “a marvelous example of a complex story that plays with several types of prejudices. A difficult subject that becomes accessible thanks to the irony and light tones of the film”.

Best Cinematography Award to My Happy Family (Georgia, 2017) by Nana & Simon, with the following motivation, “a cinematography at the service of the plot, based on the concept of old paintings, where the details are not only extremely important but also add new dimensions to the characters”.

Special Jury Award to A Taste of Ink (France,2016) by Morgan Simon, with the following motivation, “a coming-of-age story that surprises with unexpected plot twists and an extremely human approach”.

The FIPRESCI Jury composed by Colette de Castro, Natalia Moussienko, Alberto Alfredo Tristano, has awarded My Happy Family (Georgia, 2017) by Nana & Simon with the following motivation, “for expressing, with a fully-developed and lively style, through a female character with a strong personality and full of contradictions, the complexity of a society in which tradition and modernity, emotional choices and rational decisions, sense of responsibility and the idea of freedom meet and clash with each other”.

The SNGCI (National Union of Italian Film Journalists) Award, assigned by the members of the Union and by President Laura Delli Colli to the best European actress/actor, has been given to Nebojš Glogovac for The Constitution by Rajko Grlić with the following motivation: “One of the best actors of Croatian cinema, which, in this film, also thanks to his performance, explicitly denounces the discrimination of homosexuals and the violence against minorities. Under the cover of the night, his character reveals the strength of an unexpected solidarity, which –without being rhetorical- overcomes a contraposition, also of ethnic nature, that still sees with grudge and disdain, beyond the Constitution, any ‘different’ option”.

The Cineuropa Award Jury, composed by Cécile Despringre, Guillame Calop, Asja Krsmanović, has awarded the prize to When the day had no name (Macedonia-Belgium-Slovenia, 2017) by Teona Strugar Mitevska with the following motivation, “the Cineuropa award goes to a film that portrays complex social problems through the particular story of young people living on the fringes, rejected by society and neglected by their own parents. A multi-faceted story on the difficulty of growing up in a small town, where the symptoms of the transitional society are reflected in all aspects of the life of its inhabitants, and where nationalism and chauvinism have become new values. The director does an amazing job in giving voice to this new generation, torn between patriarchal models and Western cultural influences. Through subtle and spontaneous dialogues, situations that are at the same time sad and shocking, the film recreates the typical atmosphere of an ordinary day in a small town, which changes forever following an unexpected event.

The Audience Award goes to The Constitution by Rajko Grlić.

The fifth edition of Emidio Greco Award (selection committee: Jacopo Chessa, Lia Furxi, Alberto La Monica) has been assigned by the jury composed by the Greco family to Good News by Giovanni Fumu (2016) with the following motivation, “For the appropriate detachment with which the young author deals with a subject widely used in films, that of an unplanned pregnancy, and above all for the rigorous use of film techniques and language, 5 long shots that are never mere proofs of concept, the fifth edition of Emidio Greco Award is won by Good news by Giovanni Fumu”.

The jury of the Puglia Show section, composed by Nico Cirasola, Gemma Lanzo, Giancarlo Visitilli, has awarded the National Short Film Centre Award, the Augustus Color Award and the 1000 Euro Prize offered by Countess Maria Josè Pietroforte di Petruzzi to Ed è subito notte by Paolo Rollo, “for the ability to represent the unexpected through a never obvious dramaturgy, with surreal suspensions, a well-crafted and expressive mise-en-scène and an excellent characterization of both the protagonist and the supporting characters”.

Special Mention to Ieri e domani by Lorenzo Sepalone, “because it is a film that creates mystery and suspense, well directed and with an effective technical and artistic cast”.

The 1000 Euro Rai Cinema Channel Prize has been awarded by the jury composed by Maria Federica Lo Jacono and Manuela Rima to Mattia sa volare by Alessandro Porzio: “It is in cases like this that the State Television feels it has fulfilled its duty, supporting projects such as “Mattia sa volare”, a true small film, intense and delicate, made even more special by a cast, and in particular the two protagonists affected by Down’s syndrome, who were really touching”.

The Unisalento Award, awarded by the jury composed by the students of the University Cineclub, a project of the University of Salento for the promotion of audiovisual culture supported by Apulia Film Commission, goes to Il silenzio by Guido Tabacco, “for the excellent acting performances, for the narrative development and above all for the cinematographic quality”.

The Agiscuola Award, awarded by a jury of twenty-two students from eleven high schools in Lecce and established by the students of the Technical – Scientific and Sports High School “F. Calasso” in Lecce, has been given to A Taste of Ink by Morgan Simon, “for being the film that has best managed to represent and communicate, with sensitivity and delicacy, a reality very close to us youth“.

FCE 2018 | CALL...




A. Holland and N....


NEW EDITION – 18th...